Exalt The Morning!: A Poem by Shotgun

sunrise

 

From whence I come, I know not where,

 

confusion in my exasperation.

 

Calling out to God, “Are you there?”

 

Sunlight brings me exaltation.

 

But is this just confusing banter?

 

The ebb and flow of chemical relation,

 

My brain to cease from thinking candor?

 

Sunlight brings me exaltation.

 

For know I well the things that haunt me,

 

Wake me in the mid of night,

 

Casting their tall eyes about me,

 

I shiver from their horrid sight!

 

Just when sleep regains its place,

 

And dreams once more return,

 

Once again, I am haunted,

 

Conscience seared and freshly burned.

 

My sins attempt to overwhelm me, (I am undone!)

 

In the darkest part of the morning, (demons run!)

 

Its then my nightstand yields a treasure, (Byzantium?)

 

Dust falls from a precious warning! (Oh the victory is won!)

 

I raise my sword aloft and measure, (the time is almost come!)

 

Victory, oh Victory in Jesus! (The Sunlight brings me exaltation!)

This entry was posted in Fiction / Poetry / Songs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exalt The Morning!: A Poem by Shotgun

  1. holyspirithelp says:

    oh this one made me cry even more…..

  2. shotgunwildatheart says:

    lol…I hope they’re not tears from laughing so hard at how terrible I am at poetry!

  3. Slamdunk says:

    Excellent prose Shotgun!

  4. shotgunwildatheart says:

    Thanks Slam!

  5. Anonymous says:

    I AM CONSTANTLY AMAZED AND DELIGHTED AT THE HIDDEN, NOW REVEALING TALENTS YOU DISPLAY.
    GIT ER DONE!!

  6. shotgunwildatheart says:

    Ok…someone posted using my name…I’m not sure who it was…but they wrote in all caps, and the comment was kindhearted, so…I’ll let it stand…

    I love you too, whoever you are! (I suspect it may have been someone who had access to my login information…cough…parents…cough…)

Comments:

