The Walls of Old Dixie

cssalbemarle

I went to one of the most peaceful places I know of this afternoon.

I wont say exactly where, but it’s right off the Albemarle sound and there’s a replica of a Confederate steam-powered battle ship floating in the shallows.

Like most small Carolina towns, it has a majority black population so the downtown area (including the river-front with the ship) is deserted in the afternoons. (They care little for history or aesthetics and go to the commercial districts instead).  So most days there are only ducks, a soft breeze, and the distant chimes of the Episcopal church to keep one company.

There’s an extensive boardwalk stretching at least 100 yards along the river, ending in a large sheltered area protruding over the water. I made my way to one of the tables and sat to get a good view of the battleship while I smoked my Dominican.

But then I noticed, scrawled across one of the wooden railings, in what must have been a feminine hand, the following:

“We must secure a future for the white race and our white children.”

Looking around, I noticed other such sayings, peppered across the veranda.

I can’t describe to you all how happy this made me. I feel like all those who share my views are scattered throughout the country, miles away from me; but here, in my own backyard practically, was a passionate scribbling.

Who could have done it?!

I took out a marker and contributed my own message; a snippet of an Elizabeth Barrett Browning poem I use for these purposes:

“He moaned and struggled
as well might be
For the white child wanted
his liberty.”

Hopefully the other author will see it and be as encouraged by my words as I was of (hers?)

~ Deo Vindice ~

This entry was posted in Defending Dixie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Walls of Old Dixie

  1. civil rights apostate says:

    You in the South are lucky that you have friends and family who support your views. I live in Kentucky and I don’t seem to know anyone who opposes diversity at all. and I suppose up North we’re spread even thinner.

Comments:

