In Which I Stumble Into a Battle…

CSS AlbemarleI had planned a quiet afternoon, smoking my cigar by a peaceful southern river. But as I rounded the corner to the waterfront, I began hearing the patter of small arms fire. An engagement was underway (or just ending). Presently, the big guns began to boom and I knew the Confederates were hard-pressed. As I rounded the bend, I saw two encampments, but the CSS Albemarle (an ironclad ram) had won the river and the day was ours.

“Who won?” I asked a costumed passerby.

“The good guys” he said, with a wink.

As I looked out over the sea of white faces I felt a hope for the future.

Our people are still alive.

This entry was posted in Defending Dixie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Which I Stumble Into a Battle…

  1. Outnumbered and disorganised, though.

Comments:

