Onward Christian Soldier…

Christian Soldier 1sm

When we turned eight, my sister and I decided it was time we were baptized into the Church of Christ.  A full immersion was called for and we got to choose the hymn for the occasion.  I chose “Onward Christian Soldiers”.  It fit with the heroic mentality fostered in me by a near decade’s worth of GI Joe and He-Man.

Only recently have I learned what it really means to be a soldier for Christ – to wage a dirty, in-the-trench existence, day in and day out, battling with the Prince of the Power of the Air.  There have been times when my faith was weak and I gave in to despair.  I’ve written of suicide and my overcoming the temptation.  Unbelieving enemies discovered my blog posts on the topic and have been ridiculing and slandering me about them.  “Go ahead and do it” they say.

They can’t contemplate the battle lust a Christian soldier has when faced with a wall of enemies.  It’s not despair I feel now, but the fever of war.

I’m going back to academia and this time, I’m not pulling any punches or showing any mercy.

Here comes the Christian soldier…

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Onward Christian Soldier…

  1. Fr. John+ says:

    Psalm 2, dear friend. Psalm 2.

    God has Enemies. They are OUR enemies. They are flesh and blood- just like we are, as Covenant Seed of the Holy One. “Live in peace with your enemies, but only with your PERSONAL enemies, and NOT the Enemies of GOD.” – St. Theodosius of the Kiev Caves

  2. I always believed you could do it. Glad to see you haven’t disappointed! May God bless you.

    Best regards,

    A.J.P.

Comments:

